Home > Uncategorized > Joe Bonamassa: Nuff Said

Joe Bonamassa: Nuff Said

JOE BONAMASSA: ALREADY LEGENDARY

How someone like Joe could go under the radar is beyond me. I discovered him for myself about a year or two ago while still in the band “Pete Staff and the Oxford Circus” and have not looked back since. This Blues Rock guitarist is one of the best I have seen and heard in my lifetime.

The Best Blues Rock Guitarist Out There

I bought my ticket in late August to a show at the Academy of Music in Philadelphia. The show date was set for November 12th and at the time I did not even care what day it was, I wanted to go see Bonamassa at any cost. I bought my ticket (best available) and could not wait for the 3 months to go by. The chance to see one of the premier blues guitarists of this generation fueled my fire. I never got the chance to see Stevie Ray Vaughn or Jimi Hendrix so I thought my chance was now to see Joe.

I arrived at the venue about 30 minutes early and waited as time seemed to move backward. As people moved in and out before the doors opened, all I could think about was how my face would literally be “melted” off after the show. I had heard so many amazing things and had previewed his live performances on youtube. PLUS, this was my first time at the Academy of Music. I knew the acoustics, venue (one of the oldest in Philadelphia), and performance would be one of the best I have ever seen.

The Show Itself

The start of the concert featured feedback from Joe’s guitar and only his silhouette behind a white light on stage. What better way to start a show than that? Then came his blistering but soulful solos which were just masterful. The funniest part of the evening came when Joe recollected his first gig in Philly at the Trocadero (he pronounced it “Troke-a-dare-0h). An audience member sought to correct his mistake by yelling out the correct pronunciation. His response: “What, do we have a fucking linguistics expert here?” His point is that he played to 6 people but those 6 people got the best concert of their lives. Last night, the Academy was filled with 2500 people who all enjoyed his performance. Quite a leap!

He played a lot of my favorite songs as well as some tunes from his newest album “Dust Bowl.” My favorites like “Sloe Gin,” “Just Got Paid(not really his),” and “Slow Train” were on tap for the evening and these were played to perfection. A new song that I fell in love with was “The Ballad of John Henry.” The riff in this song was kick ass and should be on everyone’s list to download. Overall this night satisfied my musical palette and went beyond anything I could have imagined.

My Suggestion

GO LISTEN TO HIM!

Proud to be a listener of great music,

Seth

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

